| Refresh | Back to list | Edit | Add note | | | New bug | New request | New idea |
TedNPad : Bug (0 votes)

#25: Auto-save file is not removed after recovery

Category: File SubCategory: Autosave
Status: Fixed (2013-10-12 22:40:12) Priority: Next Release Difficulty: Normal Created: jsimlo
Version: 6.0.2.beta
Comment from jsimlo on Sat, Mar 30, 2013, 23:26 (comment id #44)
My computer blue screened. Luckily the autosave in TED Notepad kicked in and made a backup. But now, whenever I open up that file, it says an autosave has been found, would you like to open it? Even after I've reopened it and resaved it. It keeps detecting the old autosave and prompts me to open it.
Comment from jsimlo on Sat, Mar 30, 2013, 23:41 (comment id #46)
It must be possible to retain the old autosave untouched even upon choosing "no" to the prompt to recover from it. User might want to see what work has been saved (compared to auto-saved) before the crash. Important: Even if the user is reviewing the original document for long-enough time, the old autosave should not be overwritten by a new autosave, unless the user further modifies the document! By actually editing the document, the user continues to work on it, and the old autosave can be considered abandoned.
Comment from jsimlo on Sat, Mar 30, 2013, 23:45 (comment id #47)
It must also be possible to retain the original file even upon choosing "yes" to the prompt to recover from it. User might eventually choose not to use the autosaved version, and the last manually saved version before the crash must stay available, until the user decides to actually save the recovered version of the document into the original file.
Comment from jsimlo on Sat, Oct 12, 2013, 22:11 (comment id #193)
If a recovery autosave file is found, the user is asked about it and have following options in that message dialog: - yes - the autosave file is loaded instead of the original file; the document is marked as modified; the user is notified that a manual save is necessary to keep the recovered data; upon closing such document, the user is queried about saving the unsaved document: -- if the user saves the document, the autosave file is removed -- if the user chooses not to save the document, the autosave file is removed -- if the computer crashes again, the autosave file is kept - no - the autosave file is ignored and kept intact; the original file is loaded -- if the user edits the document, the autosave file will get overwritten eventually -- if the user closes the document without editing, the autosave file is still kept intact - cancel - the whole loading operation is simply cancelled.
Comment from jsimlo on Sat, Oct 12, 2013, 22:17 (comment id #194)
Note: In order to get rid of the autosave file (and discard the autosaved version altogether), the user needs either to choose "yes" to recover the data and then close the document without saving it, or to choose "no" and then edit the document (and eventually a new autosave file will overwrite the old one). Since discarding the autosaved version altogether is rarely a user's choice, it seems okay that getting rid of it is not that easy.

Public readonly listing for anonymous users.
Bugy ver. 0.0.1, a minimalist bugtracker and ideabox.
(c) 2013, Juraj Simlovic, Medvedik. All rights reserved.
Developed with TED Notepad, free notepad replacement.