Settings page

From TED Notepad
Jump to: navigation, search
This section is up to date for TED Notepad version 6.1.1.0.
Control page Control:dialog:Settings:Settings

Note: To store the settings and options portably, see chapter Portable INI file.

Upon exit

The Upon exit specifies, which categories of options and settings are to be saved into Config upon exit. Only saved options and settings are remembered between sessions.

Tip: If none of these categories is ever saved, TED Notepad always starts with default preset values. Note, however, that unchecking categories does not necessarily remove respective options and settings from the Config, if already saved before. Unchecking a category merely tells not to save respective options and settings anymore. This can be utilized to prepare more personal set of default configuration. After setting up, save the settings once, and then uncheck the categories to keep such default values forever.

Note: No settings/options are currently shared between running instances of TED Notepad. If word wrapping is turned off in one window for example, other windows remain unchanged. This behaviour is usually desired/expected. However, since this also applies to Recent Files, Favourites and even Clips, changes in one window are not going to be present within other already opened windows.

Note: The above limitation goes even further, if modifying Favourites in two different instances at the same time. Upon saving into Config, the new values conflict and only one of them makes it into the Config, overwriting the other. Although this is not a direct bug, this inconvenience shall be resolved in future versions.

Save settings

The Save settings specifies whether options and settings are to be saved at all. All saved options and settings are automatically loaded when TED Notepad starts the next time.

Note: If Save settings is unchecked, no settings categories are ever saved upon exit. That does not mean, however, that any settings already saved into the Config before are deleted upon unchecking. On the contrary, current Config values would be protected from overwriting by new values, if Save settings is kept unchecked.

Tip: If you want no settings ever to be saved and want to keed the defaults forever, uncheck this option the very first time you run TED Notepad and click the Save checked button to confirm your choice. Note: This technique saves one setting though — the one that says to save nothing else.

Tip: Optionally, you can create a Portable INI file with read-only attribute. This prevents storing any values into it, effectively restricting saving any settings and options whatsoever.

Tip: To prevent TED Notepad completely from trying to load and/or save anything, use /nl and/or /ns command line parameters respectively. See chapter Command line parameters for further details.

Tip: If you want to preset some personal values for options and settings, then:

  1. Setup the editor to your liking.
  2. Make sure the Save settings is checked.
  3. Click the Save checked button to save the settings.
  4. Uncheck the Save settings.
  5. Click the Save checked button again to confirm.
  6. From now on, no new settings are ever going to be saved.

Tip: Optionally, if you want to preset some personal values thru a Portable INI file, then:

  1. Create a Portable INI file.
  2. Setup the editor to your liking.
  3. Click the Save checked button to save the settings.
  4. Make the Portable INI file read-only.
  5. From now on, no new settings are ever going to be saved.
Save settings categories

The Window position specifies whether the main window's position is to be saved. If saved, the next time TED Notepad is started, it appears on the very same position. If turned off, the system decides, where the window is supposed to be placed.

Troubleshooting note: If you are using two displays/monitors and happen to place TED Notepad onto the second display, its position on the second display is stored. However, if you disconnect one of the displays later, TED Notepad will open on the missing display anyway. It may then be quite tricky to move it back into viewable area. Actually, the system itself takes care of the problem at least a little, placing one of the window edges to the very edge of the available screen, making it reachable by the mouse. Also, by using the system taskbar, windows can be moved by keyboard.

Note: If still unable to resolve the situation, see the homepage FAQ for further assistance.

Ludia su proste len ludia! A zensky test funguje stopercentne.. Kazdopadne, s touto featurov vzdy boli a vzdy budu nejake nepekne problemy: uzivatelom miznu okna priamo pod rukami.. Kam?

The Window size specifies whether the main window's size is to be saved. If saved, the next time TED Notepad is started, its window is resized to the same values. If turned off, the system decides, how big the window is supposed to be.

The Basic options category specifies whether the most common options from the Options menu are to be saved. These are the switches that are usually touched a lot according to specific types of documents and/or type of usage. Word Wrap, Status Bar and Second Font options belong to this category for example.

The Main settings category specifies whether settings from the General page and Tools page of the Settings dialog are to be saved.

The Edit settings category specifies whether settings from the Edit page, Appearance page and Clipboard page of the Settings dialog are to be saved.

The File settings category specifies whether settings from the File page and Save/Load page of the Settings dialog are to be saved.

The Searches category specifies whether primary search and secondary search are to be saved, i.e. their phrases and options. Note: The Extended Replace tool is not included within this category, since it is considered a separate tool, and as such is included below with other tools.

The Tools category specifies whether phrases and options from various tools dialogs are to be saved. This includes most of the tools. Note, however, that saving of some options in some tools may also be restricted by various settings from the Tools page of the Settings dialog. Also note that this category does not include the settings from Tools page of the Settings dialog, they are saved with other Main settings.

The Filters category specifies whether the Text Filters are to be saved. Note: The Text Filters are only saved when modified. See Text Filters for more details.

The Clips category specifies whether content of the Clips is to be saved. Note: The Clips are only saved when modified. See Clips for more details.

Manage

The Save checked button saves all current settings and options according to the checkboxes above, exactly as they would be saved upon exit.

Note: This button is disabled, if /ns command line parameter takes place. See chapter Command line parameters for more details.

The Restore defaults button restores all options and settings to their default values as if no options/settings were ever loaded and/or modified.

Note: If you restore options and settings, but choose not to save them afterwards, they will not remain restored the next time TED Notepad is started.

Note: There are two kinds of options that cannot be restored this way: window position and window size. See the homepage FAQ for assistance with this matter.

Personal tools